KidsMeet… the Great Lakes

KidsMeet… the Great Lakes

KidsMeet… the Great Lakes

.

.

KidsMeet the Great Lakes – National Student Webcast    SA46

.

  • Grades:    K-8 classes
  • Date:       Tues. March 27, 2017 at 12:00 – 1:00 pm EDT
    • ** Please check your time zone for local start times.
      • Pacific Daylight Time                       9:00 a.m. PDT
      • Mountain Daylight Time                10:00 a.m. MDT
      • Central Daylight Time                     11:00 a.m. CDT
      • Eastern Daylight Time                    12:00 p.m. EDT
      • Atlantic Daylight Time                     1:00 p.m. ADT
      • Newfoundland Daylight Time          1:30 p.m. NDT

.

OBJECTIVES
* To learn about and celebrate the uniqueness and diversity of communities across Canada
* To learn how the waters of “Upper Canada” collect and travel down through the Great Lakes, through the St. Lawrence Seaway, the St. Lawrence River, and “Lower Canada” on its way to the Atlantic Ocean.

 

ACTIVITY DESCRIPTION    

This month, AKGTC live student KidsMeet webcasts continue our cross-Canada learning by exploring what the Great Lakes are all about, and what it’s like to live on the Great Lakes from a K-8 student’s perspective.

Students from elementary schools in 6 different locations on Lake Superior, Lake Huron, Lake Erie, and Lake Ontario will share their local communities with you, followed by a Q&A from you, the audience.

Register your class to meet students from the Great Lakes region, and to participate in a live audience backchannel discussion where they can send their questions and comments to the students presenting! Classes in the audience are not on camera, and can continue to move around and talk in the classroom without disturbing the webcast.

All of the Kids’ Guide “KidsMeet” live webcasts are available to the general public, both on the day of recording, and for later viewing in the KidsMeet archive.

The link to the live webcast will be sent to registered participants on the morning of the webcast, along with 2nd link to the TodaysMeet chat room.

.

FREE REGISTRATION   

.

NOTE:  This event will be recorded and posted to the KidsMeet archive for later viewing.

.

MATERIALS REQUIRED

  • Instructions after registration
  • YouTube on Air webcast link – sent the morning of the live webcast
  • Internet service with sufficient bandwidth to live-stream video

. Optional Materials 

  • class display system  i.e. projector and white board
  • speaker(s)

 

 

.

.

REMINDER

PLEASE share photographs of your students in action!

However please be sure to keep student identities out of any Special Activity pictures you share.

 

..

 button to return to the special activities main page


button to return to main participant menu

Broken links on this page? 
This is a collaborative team effort: please contact us and let us know!